The Coffee Debate

Hot or cold, coffee is a serious activity. It’s a tale as old as time, but for team hot and team cold, it’s a serious game. Some argue about its scientific impact. Can iced coffee cool you down? Some talk caffeine. Does hot coffee have more caffeine?  And some others talk health. These things have been debated and debated.

But me? I just want to drink good coffee without worrying about all that. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about? For true lovers of this aromatic drink that’s a treat in every sense, there are no rules. Plus, any time is coffee time.

Time. Or scenarios. Maybe that’s what we should focus on. Undoubtedly, I’m more of a hot coffee person. There’s nothing better to kick start your day. What’s better than unlimited hot, strong coffee when you’re trying to crack your brain for a test? And I love it when my hand is enclosed around a latte as I’m strolling, especially in the colder months. It’s such a warm feeling.

But when I think of some other scenarios, I like to be a little unfaithful to my hot-coffee-loving-heart.  I imagine it’s summer and I’m stuck outside in the scorching heat. I’m dehydrated and the humidity is too much to bear. On days like those, cold coffee is a life saver.  Also, spicy food and iced coffee is a match made in heaven.

At the end of the day, when I’m greeted by the aroma as I walk into Costa, instantly everything feels better. Coffee, hot or cold, does that to you. So let’s call it a draw.

 

Leave a Reply

